11.-13. September 2020
Start: 00
00 : 00 : 00
et en ru fi de lv sv

21,1 km

 

 

SIGHTS ON THE COURSE

 

In 1935-1938 a two storey beach building was completed on the Stroomi beach and a 100 metres long bridge to the sea, music pavilion, changing rooms, kiosks, swings etc. In 1950 the beach building was destroyed in a fire, but today a new building is open. The green area has been renewed, walking paths created along with bicycle roads and grass pits, benches and grilling areas are also available. There are many playgrounds for children of different age and fitness areas for adults. On the beach park area is also a lifeguard post with kiosks renting beach equipments, snacks or refreshments.
Baltic Station Market is a unique market in Estonia, which includes nearly 300 traders on three floors. On the underground floor, there is a supermarket, a sports club, and various services. On the ground floor, there is a large hall for fish and meat, a street for vegetables, and a versatile street food area with nearly 20 dining options. The first floor is mainly devoted to Estonian design and crafts, clothing, household goods, and antiques. The mission of the Baltic Station Market is to promote a healthy and balanced diet, value clean and authentic raw materials, and respect the exquisite art of cooking.
The Fat Margaret Museum/ Visitor Centre, which belongs to the UNESCO Heritage list, is a unique complex that provides an overview of maritime trade, maritime jobs, and navigation in the Middle Ages and in the era of sailing, steam boats, and motor boats. Guests can visit spaces that were previously used by the employees. In total, we have 1,000 m² of exhibition space. Our most special showpiece is the 700-year-old wreck of a cog found in Kadriorg in 2015. Approximately 70 ship models can be seen, 17 of which have been designed for the exhibition. There are nearly 700 items and 50 digital and hands-on solutions.
The barbican of Viru Gate was part of the defence system of Tallinn city wall built in the 14th century. A couple of centuries later, it already had 8 gates that consisted of several towers and curtain walls connecting them. The main tower of a gate was always square and the barbicans were equipped with one or two small round towers. As the entrances to the Old Town were widened, several gates were demolished. The Viru Gate had to pay its dues to a horse-drawn tram route that connected the Old Market with Kadriorg. However, the corner towers were preserved; also, you can still see a part of the bastion that is called Musumägi. Viru Street with its many shops and restaurants has become one of the busiest pedestrian streets in the Old Town.
The oldest sections of Tallinn's city wall were built in the 13th century. During the next three centuries, it became one of the largest and strongest defence systems in the entire Northern Europe. More than a half of the magnificent defence system has been preserved as a city wall - this includes 1.85 km of the wall, 26 defence towers, 2 gates and fragments of two front gates.
Patkuli viewing platform is a good place for examining the city wall, and a number of towers are open for visitors.
You have a chance to walk on a small section of the wall that connects the Nunne, Sauna and Kuldjala towers. The wall has a wonderful view of the Old Town and Toompea.

In Rotermann Quarter, in the heart of Tallinn, between the Old Town, the port, and Viru Square, old industrial buildings that have been given new functions stand next to modern architecture. The industrial area started to thrivingly develop in the 19th century and it was the location for a department store, a factory that produced starch, spirit, tables, and pasta, a mill that produced bread, flour, and groat, buildings of a steam saw, and a salt warehouse, which is one of the most unique preserved limestone structures in Estonia. Currently, the building houses the Museum of Estonian Architecture, which was built on the basis of a design by a Baltic German Ernst Boustedt in 1908. There are several restaurants, shops, and the multiplex Coca Cola Plaza in Rotermann Quarter.

The representative square of Tallinn – Freedom Square is a popular meeting place designed for pedestrians. The monument to the War of Independence is also located there. Over the years, the square has gone by many names: Heinaturg (Hay Market), Peetri plats (Peter’s Square), and Võiduväljak (Victory Square) among them. It was first named Freedom Square in 1939, remaining that way until 1948. The name was readopted in 1989. The defensive structures found at archaeological excavations have been preserved and stored in the parking lot under the square; the remains of the guard gates of the defence tower can be seen at the end of Harju Street through a glass screen.

 

 

Jüri Lossmann was the first Estonian who won an Olympic medal for the Republic of Estonia and he won it in marathon, back in 1920 in Antwerp. With the time of 2:32.48 he got the silver medal; the gold medal was only 12,8 seconds away. Jüri's marathon result stayed as the Estonian record for 38 years and until today, his medal remains Estonia's only Olympic medal in the running distances. 

Year 2020, marks 100 years since the first Republic of Estonia's Olympic medal and 4th February is Jüri Lossmann's birthday.

Look back to 1920